Longines FEI Jumping Nations Cup™ USA Qualifying Competition

The Longines FEI Jumping Nations Cup™ series is equestrian sport’s oldest and most prestigious team challenge, with national teams from around the globe competing for one of the most coveted prizes in this Olympic discipline. The series aims to unite nations and foster lifelong enthusiasm for the world of horses.

The Longines FEI Jumping Nations Cup™ is a ten-event series, with the final competition held only once a year in a given country. Its global format means that more countries can host qualifiers at world-class venues and aim to win the Longines FEI Nations Cup™ title by acquiring qualifying points according to their placings.

The Longines FEI Jumping Nations Cup™ USA, held at the Rancho Mission Viejo Riding Park was the third qualifying leg in the ten-event series, with the final competition held in Barcelona, Spain in late September 2023.

The weeklong competition culminated on Mother’s Day, May 14, with the Longines FEI Jumping Nations Cup™ USA 2023 Event and a beautiful VIP Sunday Brunch overlooking the Oaks International Grand Prix Field.

2023 Teams:


Shawn Casady
Karl Cook
Lillie Keenan
Laura Kraut
McLain Ward


Jose Antonio Chedraui Eguia
Jose Antonio Chedraui Prom
Federico Fernandez
Luciana Roberta Gonzalez Guerra
Alberto Sanchez-Cozar


David Blake
Andrew Bourns
Mark Kinsella
Conor Swail


Erynn Ballard
Alicia Gadban-Lewis
Sean Jobin
Jacqueline Steffens Daly
Beth Underhill

“I always enjoy coming to compete on the West Coast. I think this is a great part of the world for our sport, it feels like coming home. You can’t have a more beautiful venue than here in San Juan Capistrano and the beach is right down the road.”

McLain Ward

USA, Longines FEI Ranking #3

“It’s really important that we have the Nations Cup here in California. I think it’s great that we bring the country together. We spend a lot of time on the East Coast, so for all of us, I think it’s really nice to come out here to California and see how it’s done out here.”

Laura Kraut

USA, Longines FEI Ranking #18

“This experience is amazing, riding with the best riders in the world. I learned a lot. There is an amazing atmosphere and so much fun to be here.”

Matias Fernandez Cuevas

Chile, FEI Ranking #707

Watch the Longines FEI Jumping Nations Cup™ USA 2023 Grand Prix

FEI Nations Cup™ Jumping 101

1.  The world is split into six regions for the competition – Europe (Division 1 and 2), North & Central America, South America, Middle East, Asia/Australia and Africa. From these regions teams are able to qualify for the world final and will once again take place at the Real Club de Polo in Barcelona.

2.  Qualifying events will take place in Europe Division 1 & Europe Division 2, North America and the Middle East. Qualification of teams from South America, Africa and Asia/Australasia will be established through the Longines Rankings.

3.  The top teams from each of these regions eventually make up the eighteen teams who compete against each other at the Final in Barcelona for the overall title of the winning nation.

4.  Each nation sends four riders per team. Every single rider and horse jumps the first round, and the worst score from each nation is dropped.

5.  All riders jump both first and second rounds. At the end of both rounds, the best three scores of the team are added together, (therefore leaving out the worst score of the four riders).  The winning team is that with the lowest score of faults.

6.  In Division 1 Events, fours athletes per team take part in the first round.  Unless eliminated in the first round, eight teams take part in the second round with four athletes each.  The home team, if not one of the Division one teams, may not return for the second round unless they have qualified among the eight teams allowed to return for the second round.

7.  The nation with the best overall score is top of the table.

8.  The FEI Nations Cup™ Final consists of three competitions.  Each team competes in two of the three competitions. 

9. Teams placed 9 – 18 go will compete in the 2nd competition and start on zero penalties. 

10.  Teams placed 1 – 8 will compete in the Final Competition. All teams start on zero penalties. 

In the case of a jump off, teams not taking part in the jump off are separated by the times of their best three athletes in the initial round.


A Jumping Competition is one in which the combination of Horse and Athlete is tested under various conditions over a course of obstacles. It is a test intended to demonstrate the Horse’s freedom, its energy, its skill, its speed and its obedience in Jumping and the Athlete’s horsemanship.

If an Athlete makes certain Faults such as knocking down an obstacle, refusing, exceeding the time allowed, etc. the Athlete incurs Penalties. The winner of the Competition is the Athlete who incurs the least number of Penalties, completes the course in the fastest time or gains the highest number of points, depending on the type of Competition.

The complete Longines FEI Jumping Nations Cup™ Rules for Season 2023 are available on the FEI Website.